EnglishItalianKoreanChinese (Simplified)Chinese (Traditional)PortugueseGermanFrenchSpanishJapaneseArabicRussianGreekDutchBulgarianCzechCroatianDanishFinnishPolishSwedishNorwegianHebrewSerbianSlovakThaiTurkishHungarianRomanian
  • Millrace Studios

  • Детские *

  • * Представленная Уилкинсон Studios, Inc , Телефон: 312-226-0007, Факс: 312-226-0404

    При казалось бы, ненасытная потребность всю жизнь принимать моего окружения и создать отдельный мир фантазии с участием антропоморфных животных, детские книги, казалось идеальным транспортным средством. Хотя некоторые из моих персонажей может быть весьма причудливыми, большинство из них правильный таксономически с добавлением человеческого выражения и манеры. Я помню смотреть Walt Disney особенным, как ребенок, который показал свою аниматоры использованием зеркал, отражающих их собственные выражения в качестве справочных для своих персонажей. Это шоу, очевидно, произвела впечатление на меня, потому что десятилетия спустя я все еще использую технику ... Конечно компьютеров сделать это намного легче сегодня.

    Хотя я знал, что поле Я хотел войти, чтобы сделать это в промышленности детской книги не для слабонервных, как мы все знаем. Нуждаясь стабильный доход был стимул для становления арт-директором в рекламном ... то, что я думал, было ступенькой на пути к детской литературы стала карьеру с собственной жизнью. Один из моих личных девизом в том, чтобы пробовать и смотреть на все, как опыт и мои 15 лет в рекламе, конечно, это. Это был бесценный на многих уровнях от изучения дизайна до получения понимание интерпретировать потребности клиента. Это, возможно, задержали моего первоначального выбора карьеры, но он обогатил конечного продукта.

    Когда пришло время, я обнаружил, репы, или я должен сказать, они нашли меня, и мои отношения с Уилкинсон Studios родился. Мы работаем вместе почти 10 лет, и проекты, которые они послали моего пути дали мне возможность расширить мой предмет на множество граней. С культур «Радуга» в современной школе, у меня была возможность, чтобы проиллюстрировать многие этнические символы, другой моей страстью. Так же, как мне нравится создавать выразительные животные, я очарован, что делает определенные этнические особенности лица, что этническая принадлежность. Это отнимает много наблюдений, и я буду всегда учиться ... но это все часть творческого процесса.

    Я всегда ищу новые вызовы, и я могу иллюстрировать то, что я понимаю. Если бы я встать на тему, что я не знаком, это дает мне возможность узнать что-то новое и добавить то, чтобы мой репертуар.

    Надеюсь, вам понравится моей галерее, что вы найдете то, что вам нравится, и, по крайней мере, что она может вызвать улыбку на вашем лице.

The Tale of Benjamin Bunny

Category: Children's Books*, Trade Books | Leave a Comment

pg.9pg.15

The Tale of Johnny Townmouse

Category: Children's Books*, Trade Books | 2 Comments

The Tale of johnny Townmouse

The Tale of Squirrel Nutkin

Category: Children's Books*, Trade Books | 1 Comment

The Tale of the Flopsy Bunnies

Category: Children's Books*, Trade Books | 1 Comment

Flopsy Bunnies coverpg.15

The Tale of Peter Rabbit

Category: Children's Books*, Trade Books | 1 Comment

Peter Rabbit coverpg.5pg.6pg.10webpg.15pg.20

The Tale of Mrs. Tittlemouse

Category: Children's Books*, Trade Books | Leave a Comment

Mrs. Tittlemouse page 7page 12page 14page 16page 18

Marvelous Max the Mansion Mouse

Category: Children's Books*, Trade Books | 1 Comment

Art MaxMarvelous Max Spread 1

Marvelous Max Spread 2Marvelous Max Spread 3Marvelous Max Spread 4Marvelous Max Spread 5Marvelous Max Spread 6

Police Cat

Category: Children's Books*, Trade Books | Leave a Comment

Art P CatPolice Cat Spread 1Police Cat Spread 2Police Cat Spread3Police Cat Spread4Police Cat Spread5

There’s a Kangaroo in My Soup

Category: Children's Books*, Trade Books | 2 Comments

There  s a Kangaroo in my SoupKangaroo Spreads 1Kangaroo Spreads 2Kangaroo Spreads 3Kangaroo Spreads 4Kangaroo Spreads 5Kangaroo Spreads 6

Dear Santa

Category: Children's Books*, Trade Books | 1 Comment

Dear Santa spread 1Dear Santa spread 2

keep looking »
  • Translator

    EnglishItalianKoreanChinese (Simplified)Chinese (Traditional)PortugueseGermanFrenchSpanishJapaneseArabicRussianGreekDutchBulgarianCzechCroatianDanishFinnishPolishSwedishNorwegianHebrewSerbianSlovakThaiTurkishHungarianRomanian
  • MillRace Studios

  • Childrens*

With a seemingly insatiable need throughout my life to take my surroundings and create a separate fantasy world involving anthropomorphic animals, children's books seemed the perfect vehicle. Although some of my characters can be extremely whimsical, most are taxonomically correct with the addition of human expressions and mannerisms. I can remember watching a Walt Disney special as a child that showed his animators using mirrors reflecting their own expressions as reference for their characters. This show obviously made an impression on me because decades later I still use the technique... of course computers make it much easier today.

Although I knew what field I wanted to enter, doing so in the children's book industry is not for the faint of heart, as we all know. Needing a steady income was the impetus for becoming an art director in advertising... what I thought was a stepping stone to children's publishing became a career with a life of its own. One of my personal motto's is to try and look at everything as a learning experience and my 15 years in advertising was certainly that. It has been invaluable on many levels from learning design to gaining the insight to interpret a client's needs. It may have delayed my initial career choice, but it enriched the end product.

When the time was right, I found a rep, or I should say they found me, and my relationship with Wilkinson Studios was born. We have been working together for almost 10 years and the projects they have sent my way have given me the opportunity to expand my subject matter into many facets. With the 'rainbow' cultures in today's schools, I've had the opportunity to illustrate many ethnic characters, another passion of mine. Just as I enjoy creating expressive animals, I am fascinated by what makes a certain ethnic face that particular ethnicity. It takes a lot of observation and I will always be learning... but that's all part of the creative process.

I am always looking for new challenges and I can illustrate anything I understand. If I embark on a subject that I am not familiar with, it gives me the opportunity to learn something new and add then it to my repertoire.

I hope you enjoy my gallery, that you find something you like and at the very least that it can bring a smile to your face.